There are no recent bookmarks.

universal accessibility

Accessibility Info

QR Code

Please Note: This event has expired.

Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto - Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra

Presented by Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra at Unknown

Apr 28 - 30 2016
Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto - Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra

This program is like postcards from Italy, starting with Tchaikovsky’s Capriccio Italien, inspired by a trip the composer took to Rome during Carnival.

The program’s centerpiece is Tchaikovsky’s fiery Violin Concerto—from the shimmering opening theme to the breathless pyrotechnics of the finale, it is sure to be a marvel in the hands of violinist Sergej Krylov. After a sightseeing trip, Mendelssohn composed his vivid Italian Symphony, about which he said, “It will be the most joyous thing I’ve ever written.”


TCHAIKOVSKY: Capriccio Italien
TCHAIKOVSKY: Violin Concerto
MENDELSSOHN: Overture to A Midsummer Night’s Dream
MENDELSSOHN: Symphony No. 4, Italian


Tickets start at $12. Discounted tickets available for seniors, under 30 & full-time students, and military.

Contact: 513.381.3300


    Official Website


Additional time info:

A light dinner buffet will be available beginning at 6:15 PM in the Music Hall Ballroom prior to the Thursday performance. Classical Conversations will begin at 7 PM in the Music Hall Auditorium prior to the Saturday performance.

* Event durations (if noted) are approximate. Please check with the presenting organization or venue to confirm start times and duration.

Full map and directions

CONNECT WITH Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra


ArtsWave Newsletter Signup

Stay connected to what's going on in Greater Cincinnati's arts with ArtsWave's newsletter, Arts All Around. You'll find recommendations for arts events using ArtsWave Guide, hear about upcoming shows with ArtsWave Pass deals, the latest from our podcast and blog, plus so much more!